Ladder Logic or Structured Text?

Hey guys,

I’m a student and just started learning PLC programming. I was wondering what would be best to learn between Ladder Logic and Structured Text programming as the best entry point into a career as a PLC programmer? Any tips would be super appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Max

1 Like

I am newer also, I think ladder logic, Everything I have come across and have seen in most learning videos is ladder. But Vlad might be able to answer better. How are you going about learning. I have a job as a maintenance tech in a manufacturing plant that makes automative glass. Every line has PLC’s and robots.

If you come from an electrical engineering background like myself, Ladder Logic isn’t that difficult to learn. Also, it’s the most used PLC programming language, which improves your job prospects. I’d definitely recommend getting started with Ladder Logic over any other language.

1 Like

Hey @Rouz6, hey @Mo.s,

thanks for the reply. I’ve done some more research and yea, just like you both pointed out Ladder Logic makes the most sense. It’s seems by far the most user language and feels similar to assembly programming with which I’m pretty familliar.

Best,
Max

My thoughts are that having a basic understanding of ladder logic is easy. But beginners all know that most programs have enormous complexity.

However with that being said most beginners should start with learning ladder logic.

However, beginners should learn ‘WHEN’ a senior programmer would use ST. What are the advantages of using ST. For instance Vlad has wrote;